Unboxing: Yureka Books January 2017

It’s time again for my Yureka Books subscription unboxing and review. Yureka is an incredible service that caters directly to your own reading preferences. Pick the number of books you want to receive from their generous options and tell them about your reading habits. They then pick out books that fit with your favorite genres. You can connect them to your Goodreads TBR list or let them choose for a more varied reading experience. This was my January box.

As always, my books were sent in a big white bubble mailer, seen above. It seems to keep everything in good shape from there to here.

Yureka Books January 2017 wrapped

Inside the mailer, my books were wrapped in blue tissue paper with an envelope on top. Every month they include a letter directly to you, letting you know a little about the books and any contests they may have going on.

Yureka Books January 2017 letter

When I opened the envelope, I found the usual note plus three blank bookplates for my selections and a cute magnetic bookmark. I wasn’t expecting the bookmark, so that was a nice surprise. The bookplates are stickers with peel-off backs. They’re excellent quality and attractive to boot.

Yureka Books January 2017 books

And now, for the main attraction. My books! Hooray! I subscribe to the 1 hardcover and 2 softcover plan for $40. This month’s hardcover was The Shadow Queen by C.J. Redwine. The book is a little older than I expected (I believe the softcover version was recently released), but it’s one I’ve been wanting to read so I’m not complaining.

My two softcover selections were Bloodlines by Richelle Mead and Beauty Queens by Libba Bray. Both were on my Goodreads to-be-read list, but I was a little disappointed to find that Bloodlines should probably be read after the Vampire Academy series as I’ve only finished the first book in that line. Does anyone know if this can be a standalone series if you haven’t finished the other? I may just have to hold onto it for a while. Beauty Queens looks awesome and I can’t wait to get into that.

The cost of these three books new on Amazon is a good bit less than what I paid for the subscription. However, I consider the bonus items and the service of choosing books for each individual customer worth some value. I love being surprised and crossing books off my buy list, so I call it a win.

Yureka Books also has some cheaper plans available. If you’re interested in seeing what they have to offer, click here.

4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

