OwlCrate January 2017 feature

Unboxing: OwlCrate January 2017 Classic Remix Box

So, I had to skip my January OwlCrate shipment due to lack of funds that month. I was very sad because the book was near the top of my want list. However, I got some money back from my state taxes this year and instead of putting it into something for the house, I decided to splurge a bit. I ordered some extra subscription boxes and was ecstatic to find that OwlCrate still had January boxes in their inventory. Hooray! Even Persephone was excited for its arrival. That’s her up top. The theme was Classic Remix and revolved around classic novels. Here’s what was inside.

OwlCrate January 2017 inside box

As always, the enclosed goodies were packed in shredded cardboard for safe travels. I haven’t had any issues with broken or bent items over the year or so I’ve been a customer, so it’s a great system.

OwlCrate January 2017 bookmark

At the top of the box were a bunch of paper goods. This month’s postcard was there with the list of items on the back. There was also an ad for Wires & Nerve, the new graphic novel by Marissa Meyer. It’s one I’d like to read eventually, but I don’t really care about the ad.

Also included was a bookmark with a quote from Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut and a spiral bound calendar with drawings from favorite classic children’s books. I’m a huge Vonnegut fan, so I’m pleased with the bookmark. The art in the calendar is gorgeous and I plan on keeping it on my desk.

OwlCrate January 2017 soap

Next in the box were several useable items including a bar of soap, a bag of tea, a magnet and a button pin. I’ll admit it. I’m a soap junkie. I have a house full of artisan crafted soaps of varying scents and ingredients. I use one at a time and then pick what appeals to me next. This white tea and berries soap based on The Secret Garden got bumped to the top of the list and it smells amazing.

The tea is an herbal blend based on The Little Prince, so of course it includes rose petals. It also has peppermint, spearmint, osmanthus petals, ginger pieces and chamomile. It’s caffeine free so I can drink it at any time of day. The yummy flavor is very mint intensive, which I like. I consider myself a bit of a tea connoisseur, at least for an American woman, but I hadn’t heard of osmanthus before. I love discovering new things.

The magnet in this box is from the original Phantom of the Opera novel. I love the design. I think my niece will be quite jealous. She loves all things Phantom. As for the pin, OwlCrate started putting a monthly button in their boxes late this past year taken from their postcard artwork. They’re always unique. I wish I knew where my whole collection was, but they get misplaced in my messy bedroom. I do have one of my favorites on my laptop bag along with others I’ve received in different subscription boxes.

OwlCrate January 2017 Roseblood A.G. Howard

Lastly in the package were this month’s book, a bookplate, and the letter from the author. This month’s novel pick was Roseblood by A. G. Howard. I’ve read a couple of this author’s other books and I always enjoy them, so I’m looking forward to getting into this one.

I was a little disappointed that this month’s autograph was a stamp instead of a signature. It doesn’t seem as personal to me. I don’t know whether to consider the book signed or not for my online book catalogue. Why put the bookplate in at all if it’s not a true signature? This is a first for OwlCrate. All of my other bookplates have had real signatures, so I can overlook it.

Every box includes a copied letter from the author, which I enjoy. They give a little more insight into the writing of the novel or the plot. I like learning something new before I start reading.

So, this month’s box was full of great goodies. OwlCrate is always fantastic with picking items that their customers will love. In the last year there was only one box that I received that I was disappointed with. Most months the value of the items greatly exceeds the $29.99 price of the box.

If you’re looking for a YA book box, OwlCrate is one of the best. The reads are new releases from a variety of YA genres and they always go out of their way to choose unique and useful items. If you’re ready to sign up, click here.

4.5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

