Freeks by Amanda Hocking

Book Review: ‘Freeks’ by Amanda Hocking

You may have noticed that my last book review was in full and not a link to theCelebrityCafe.com. This is because I’ve recently changed jobs and will no longer be writing reviews for their site. I’ve moved on to writing marketing materials, so all reviews will be specifically for my personal blog from now on.

With that being said, I’d like to talk about Freeks by Amanda Hocking. You may be shocked to find out that I’ve never read anything by her before. I know! She’s always been on my list of authors I wanted to try, but there’s only so much time in my week to dedicate to reading. Some books kind of fall by the wayside until I have time to throw them into the mix. When I saw that Hocking had a new book coming out, I decided to jump on it. I mean, who can pass up a paranormal read with a carnival sideshow? Not me! Here’s what I thought of it.

Mara is a seemingly ordinary girl traveling with her mother and their extraordinary friends in a carnival sideshow. She dreams of meeting a guy who doesn’t think she’s a freak and settling down in a real home. When the carnival arrives in Caudry, she meets a mysterious boy named Gabe who appears to be perfect for her, but something dark is lurking in the shadows. Can she trust Gabe and the townsfolk, or are they setting her family up for something sinister?

Mara is a strong lead and her love story with Gabe feels like it grows in a believable manner. The attacks on the camp have an air of mystery that will keep you guessing at their cause. While some of the bad guys seem a little one-sided, the story is a fun paranormal romp with a satisfying ending. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys the darkness of carnival freak shows, supernatural powers and epic battles against evil.

3.5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

