Hungry Heart by Jennifer Weiner

Book Review: ‘Hungry Heart: Adventures in Life, Love, and Writing’ by Jennifer Weiner

I’m not a big non-fiction reader, but I love the occasional memoir. Jennifer Weiner is someone whose books have been on my TBR pile for a while, but that I haven’t gotten to yet. However, the blurb on my library’s website made her life sound interesting so I checked it out her memoir, Hungry Heart: Adventures in Life, Love, and Writing. I’m glad I did and I’m moving her novels up in my pile.

Being a big girl, I know how tough that life can be. People assume they know you just by looking at your size. You’re insulted on a pretty regular basis and everyone has some piece of advice on how to lose the weight. Sometimes it’s not that easy. Sometimes there are medical issues involved and sometimes it’s genetics. Either way, my weight in not your concern. As long as I’m healthy and happy, what does it matter? Jennifer Weiner gets this completely. Having grown up larger than the women around her, she’s had to fight for respect.

Jennifer also discusses sexism in the world of books and the world at large. It’s disheartening to read how far behind women still are in regards to our careers, but I’m glad people like Weiner are out pleading our case. Maybe she can make a difference. At any rate, she made me want to work harder to make the world a better place.

Amidst all the activism, Weiner also tells the story of her life, including her dysfunctional family and romantic relationships and how she started out in the literary world. I thought she was brave to write about her private life and I could relate to much of it.

While some might be put off by Weiner’s feminist voice, I found her writing inspirational. Having learned the story behind her works, I’m definitely more interested in reading her fiction. Romance stories where the big girl has a HEA? Yes, please. If you fancy yourself a feminist or just want some indication that big girls can have love too, this is an excellent read.

4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

