Unboxing: Espionage Cosmetics Boom!Box February 2017 Automaton subscription box

I only wear makeup when I venture out of my house for special outings. At home and when going to visit family or on mundane trips such as doctor appointments, I don’t usually bother. When I do wear makeup, I love geeky color schemes. Shimmery eye shadow and bright red or dark purple lips are favorites. So, when I found out there was a geeky makeup box subscription called Boom!Box, I was excited to try it out. I’ve received a few boxes from them over the last year, but this will be the first one I review for you. The theme was automatons or androids. Ready? Here goes.

As seen above, Espionage Cosmetics sends their subscription in a bright purple box with their logo on it. Very flashy.

Boom!Box Automaton February 2017 inside

Inside, everything is packed in tissue paper for safe arrival. I’ve never received anything broken from them.

Boom!Box Automaton February 2017 contents

Upon opening the packing paper, I found some great goodies. At the top right you’ll see a wooden tea light lantern (some assembly required) based on Westworld. I love the android based quote. I haven’t glued mine together yet, but I plan on getting a lot of use out of it.

Also in the box were two sets of nail wraps. One had wires like you’d find in an automaton that I think are awesome. The other set was based on the U-87 Cylon from TV show Caprica on the Syfy channel. I’ve never watched the show, but the wraps are cool looking, so I’ll definitely wear them. They came with an emery board for easy application.

There were an art print and makeup bag in this month’s box too. The print is of a pin-up robot girl with her space gun. I love her, so I’m going to have to figure out where to put her. I was a little disappointed that there was no actual makeup in this month’s box. Usually, we receive one or two full-size makeup pieces as well as the occasional beauty supply. While this Marissa Meyer bag is beautiful, I would have liked to receive something to go in it.

Boom!Box Automaton February 2017 stickers

In addition to the more substantial items, there were three stickers included in this month’s subscription. I gave the Skynet sticker to my fiancé who’s a huge Terminator fan. I found the Iron Giant sticker inspirational and put it on my laptop cover. I love the android makeup girl, but I’m not sure what to do with her. I’m thinking of passing her along to my geek and fashion loving niece. I think she’d like her and put the sticker to use somewhere cool.

Even though there wasn’t any makeup this month, the box was still a good haul. The value of everything exceeds the $30 price of the box. The wraps alone are worth $20. I adore this box and will definitely continue to receive it. I only wish it was monthly instead of quarterly. If you’d like to sign up for your own geeky makeup box, click here for the May box. You’ll also see sign-ups for their monthly nail wrap subscription, Nexus, which I’ll be reviewing next.

4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

