Unboxing: VNYL March 2017 XOXO subscription box

So, I’m calling this the March shipment since that’s when I received it, but really, I ordered in February and chose a curated theme based on that month. VNYL always takes a little over a month from order/renewal date until you have it in your hot little hands. That may seem long, but the service is usually worth it.

VNYL is a record subscription that chooses music for you based on a form you fill out with your current loves and hates. They also line it up with your Spotify listens and Discogs list. They want to make sure it’s something you’ll love and that you don’t already own.

If you’re not feeling adventurous, they also have themes where all three records are pre-chosen so you know exactly what you’re getting. I enjoy the thrill of the surprise though, so I always pick a curated theme. This month I chose XOXO for Valentine’s Day. Here’s what I received.

As always, my VNYL shipment was mailed in a hot pink record mailer with their logo, seen up top. It’s good and sturdy so everything gets here without breaking.

VNYL March 2017 XOXO records

Included in the shipment were my three records and a personal note explaining why they were chosen. This month I received the new Dams of the West album, Youngish American and two Taking Back Sunday albums, Tell All Your Friends and Where You Want to Be.

I’m a huge Vampire Weekend fan, so I was excited to hear their drummer’s side project. While I don’t love Dams of the West as much as VW, I still enjoyed it very much. I was a bit surprised to get two albums from the same band as this hasn’t happened in any of my prior shipments. I like Emo, but I was hoping for more variety. Taking Back Sunday is a decent band and I’ll definitely play these. However, I’ll probably make a note on my account to send three different bands next time.

So, how did they do? They noted my love of Indie, Emo and Punk bands and even sent me a fairly new release. I’d say VNYL did well. Thank you to my curator. If you’d like to sign up, it’s $39 per month with free shipping to the US. Just click here and see what they send you.

4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

