Unboxing: Mirror Book Box April 2017 ‘Rage Against the Machine’ subscription box

Always on the lookout for brand new book subscriptions that think outside the traditional YA box, I was excited when I saw Mirror Book Box among the list of services on CrateJoy. Instead of simply sending out contemporary or fantasy reads, Mirror takes things a step further. Every book they ship is rich with some sort of diversity. They comprise alternate religions, people of color or LBGT literature including gender issues. The goal of Mirror Book Box is to reflect the range of readers in today’s modern society.

While the box I received was labeled April, I received it in the beginning of May. It looks like they mail them out at the very tail end of the month. The theme this month was ‘Rage Against the Machine.’ It had nothing to do with the band and everything to do with a villain in this month’s novel. The box was full of steampunk and rebel items. You’ll see the shipping box up top. Here’s what was inside.

Mirror Book Box April 2017 Rage Against the Machine packaging

When I opened the box, the card with an itemized list of goodies was on top. Underneath, I can already see a Funko Pop so I’m excited. Everything was packed securely in white shredded cardboard.

Mirror Book Box April 2017 Rage Against the Machine jewelry

The first items I picked out of the box were steampunk inspired jewelry. One piece was a one-of-a-kind pin made of gears with a clock hand attached. The other was a necklace with a pocket watch style clock pendant. It also has a key charm on the chain and came with an extra battery which was a great thought. I can’t wait to wear both pieces.

Mirror Book Box April 2017 Rage Against the Machine bookmark

Next in the box were a laminated bookmark and a small notebook. The bookmark has a beautiful quote from A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir. It should stand up to coffee spills and won’t bend or crease over time. The notepad is inspired by Hamilton. I love the quote on the front. As a procrastinating writer, it is often literally true for me rather than just an inspirational sentiment.

Mirror Book Box April 2017 Rage Against the Machine Funko

On to the Funko Pop! I received rebel girl Rey from the Star Wars franchise. I’m not a Star Wars fanatic, but my fiancé is, so I gave her to him to put on his dresser. We don’t own a ton of Funkos, but we love the ones we have.

Mirror Book Box April 2017 Rage Against the Machine book

The last things in the box were this month’s novel and newsletter. The book this time was The Gauntlet by Karuna Riazi. It’s described as a steampunk Jumanji with Middle Eastern characters. They get sucked into a mechanical board game and must fight its creator to save everyone trapped inside. It looks like a lot of fun.

I believe the newsletter is something Mirror does monthly. It lists books that celebrate diversity that have come out that month along with a short description of each one. I enjoy expanding my horizons so this is a great feature for me.

Mirror Book Box costs $34.99 per month plus shipping. The goodies that you get are worth it. From looking at photos of past boxes, they seem to consistently ship beautiful and useful items. I thoroughly enjoyed my box and plan on subscribing after my move. If you’d like to give them a try for yourself, click here to sign up.

5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

