Unboxing: Fresh Fiction Box Not to Miss May 2017 subscription box

Hello, everyone! It’s 90 degrees in upstate New York today and I feel like I’m melting into the couch. What was supposed to be a work day turned into a reading day thanks to having to escape an apartment that has no water for the next 24 hours. So, I finished reading my next book for review and worked on a few others. Now that things are settling down for the night, I’ve found the time to write up my review for the May shipment of the Fresh Fiction Box Not to Miss.

If you’ve been with me a while, you know I reviewed this box last month as well. It’s first and foremost a romance novel subscription box, but they throw some other genres in as well. The owners sent me the box to review for you and have included a coupon you can use to take some money off your first month. Have a look at what was inside.

Up top is the dark pink box the books are shipped in. It really stands out when you open your mailbox and the logo is impossible to miss.

Fresh Fiction Box Not to Miss May 2017 inside

Inside, everything is tucked in tightly without padding. Because it’s mainly paperback books, they always arrive in excellent condition. On top of the books is an insert advertising possible picks for this month’s box.

Fresh Fiction Box Not to Miss May 2017 e-books

The first three items pulled from the box were cards for free e-book downloads and a sample pouch. Each month, FFB seems to throw in some kind of sample pack. This month it was caffeinated breath mints in wintergreen flavor. I haven’t tried them yet. I’m saving them for a work morning when I’m feeling drowsy. It’s an interesting idea anyway. Combat the sleepies and morning breath in one shot!

Two of the three books were contemporary romances. Lexie by Kimberly Dean is the first book in the Triple X series. The write-up doesn’t much appeal to me, so I’ll be trying to find another home for this one. Why the River Runs by JoAnna Grace sounds a bit better to me, so I’ll probably give it a try. The other e-book in the bunch was A Suitable Affair by Erica Taylor. It’s a Regency romance with a bit of mystery. Based on my favored genres, I think this will be my favorite read of the three.

Fresh Fiction Box Not to Miss May 2017 paperbacks

Next in the package were three mass market paperback books – all romances. The Lady Travelers Guide to Scoundrels & Other Gentlemen by Victoria Alexander is another historical romance that looks like fun. I was ready to write off the other two novels, but the summary on the back of Toughest Cowboy in Texas by Carolyn Brown sounded intriguing. Even though I don’t normally like Cowboy romance, I’m going to give this one a try. However, Their Pretend Amish Courtship by Patricia Davids will be getting passed along. I’m not a fan of Amish romance novels.

Fresh Fiction Box Not to Miss May 2017 hardcover

The last two books in the box were a hardcover and a trade paperback. I’m especially excited about the hardback. The Sixth Victim by Tessa Harris is a mystery set in Jack the Ripper’s Victorian London. I love Victorian novels and this one has a paranormal twist, which makes me want to pick it up immediately. I have a couple of books ahead of it on my TBR list, but I’ll be making a point of cracking it open soon. The other novel is Sandpiper Cove by Irene Hannon which looks a little too vanilla for my tastes.

This subscription never ceases to surprise me with how much value it packs into each box. The eight books are worth much more than the $25.95 cost. Better yet, shipping is free. And best of all, I have a $3 off coupon for my readers. Just go to their website and enter the code BOOKLOVE at checkout. If you love contemporary romance, this is your box!

4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

