Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham

Book Review: ‘Talking as Fast as I Can’ by Lauren Graham

I discovered Gilmore Girls when it was in reruns. I’ve never really been one to watch television on an appropriate timeline. So, I’ve seen a lot of episodes, enough to know I love the show, but I’ve watched them out of order. I’m currently working my way through chronologically on Netflix so I can get to the new movie length reboots.

Lauren Graham has always seemed to be a down-to-earth celebrity with a good sense of humor, so when I saw she wrote a Gilmore Girls based memoir, I thought it could be a lot of fun. However, while Lauren’s personality definitely shined through, I was disappointed to find that it didn’t really dive into her life or the show with any depth.

Lauren touches on a lot of subjects in her book. She lightly covers her rise to stardom, her seemingly old-fashioned views on life, her relationship with Peter Krause, and of course both versions of the hit show. However, she seems to whitewash everything. We don’t get anything more than surface deep. When reviewing the ‘90s run of the show, she sticks with hairstyles and technology differences rather than stories about the making of the episodes or meaningful relationships with cast members. Even the reboot, where she pulls out journal entries, are more about who stopped by and were added to the extras than to anything that might add to our love of the show.

If you love Lauren, this might be worth a read. Her quirky personality and ability to make you laugh are there. However, if you were looking for more of a history of the show or her personal life, this isn’t it.

3 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

